skip to primary navigationskip to content
 

Useful generic e-mail addresses for Department members

Generic

Everyone in the Genetics Department, including those working in buildings other than the main Department, and including Part IIs : everyone@gen.cam.ac.uk

Members of research groups in the main Genetics Building [ie not Wellcome Building] and admin staff, but not Part IIs : main.department@gen.cam.ac.uk

Genetics Department members at the Wellcome Gurdon Institute : wellcome@gen.cam.ac.uk

Group leaders from other departments who have chosen to be affiliated with the Department of Genetics : affiliates@gen.cam.ac.uk

Role addresses

Reception : reception@gen.cam.ac.uk [Claire Wilson currently picking up]

Accounts : accounts.office@gen.cam.ac.uk  [Deborah Ford and Susan Omo]

Safety : safety@gen.cam.ac.uk  [goes to Mark Hammond and Andy Jessop]

IT help : itsupport@gen.cam.ac.uk  [goes to Ian Clark - picked up by other computer staff if he is on leave]

Postmaster : postmaster@gen.cam.ac.uk  [to request a Departmental e-mail address, get your e-mail rerouted on leaving, etc - goes to Ian Clark]

Hostmaster : hostmaster@gen.cam.ac.uk  [for hardware help - goes to Ian Clark]

Webmaster : webmaster@gen.cam.ac.uk [for webserver problems, but not website content - goes to Ian Clark]

Department e-mail accounts / network accounts : user.accounts@gen.cam.ac.uk [goes to Ian Clark]

Library : library@gen.cam.ac.uk [goes to Christine Alexander and Ian Furner]

Categories of Department members

Group leaders : group.leaders@gen.cam.ac.uk

Postdocs and research associates : postdocs@gen.cam.ac.uk

Assistant staff : asst@gen.cam.ac.uk

Administrative staff : admin@gen.cam.ac.uk

Staff, all research staff, and assistant staff : allstaff@gen.cam.ac.uk

CUFS users : cufs.users@gen.cam.ac.uk

Postgraduates : research.students@gen.cam.ac.uk

Undergraduates : partii.students@gen.cam.ac.uk

Ex-Part IIs : begins with alumni-9900@gen.cam.ac.uk, and so on, so current batch will be alumni-1516@gen.cam.ac.uk

Facilities

Media : media@gen.cam.ac.uk

Research groups

The formula is: Ahringer : ahringer_group@gen.cam.ac.uk   ... and so on

Less-obvious ones:

FlyChip : flychip@sysbiol.cam.ac.uk

FlyMine : all@flymine.org

Martinez Arias : arias_group@gen.cam.ac.uk

O'Kane : okane_group@gen.cam.ac.uk

St. Johnston : stjohnston_group@gen.cam.ac.uk

Departmental Committees

Assistant Staff Consultative Committee : asc-cttee@gen.cam.ac.uk

Graduate Education Committee : graded-cttee@gen.cam.ac.uk

Library Committee : library-cttee@gen.cam.ac.uk

Infrastructure and Technical Services Committee : its-cttee@gen.cam.ac.uk

Postdoc Committee : postdoc-cttee@gen.cam.ac.uk

Research Strategy Group : rsg@gen.cam.ac.uk

Safety Committee : safety-cttee@gen.cam.ac.uk

Social Fund : socfund-cttee@gen.cam.ac.uk

Staff Committee : staff-cttee@gen.cam.ac.uk

Teaching Committee : teaching-cttee@gen.cam.ac.uk

Individuals

Where possible, a personal e-mail address uses the formula :

g.mendel@gen.cam.ac.uk [ie first initial/full stop/surname@gen.cam.ac.uk]